top of page

My self-portraits


My self-portraits; Paper and paints; 21 cm x 28 cm; 2017

 

These were my self-portraits in two days when I was in different emotions. The first day I was sad and stressful, so I used dark colours to paint the portrait. The second day I was happy and relief, so I used bright colours to paint.

These self-portraits were ideas from Van Gogh. He used portraits to show his feeling. Many other artists, including Pablo Picasso, were influenced by him and popularize this kind of art form. I only used paint pigments and paper in this project. These tools seemed to be simple, but it made the painting fill with a sense of relief. It was not the kind of painting which shown that the artist was professional and skillful in color painting. Though the painting was a little messy, it directly expressed the emotion of the artist strongly.

Using only colours to show my emotion was a new art form to me. Without sketching before colouring, I was a little nervous to paint because I could not erase anything after I put them on the paper. However, the painting appeared to be better than I had thought. The painting did not need some lines or shapes in order or some exact ratios for human faces. The most important and impressive part of the painting was the emotion behind it.

I needed more practises to have better painting next time. From other artists works, I got a lot of inspirations and I would apply them in my next self-portrait project.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page