top of page

Portrait for my grandmother


Portrait for my grandmother; 21 cm x 28 cm; 2017

 

This was a portrait for my grandmother. I drawn this painting from a photo of my grandmother. Since I wanted to show more realistic image on the paper, I used many hues of yellow and green and obeyed the ratios of a human face.

I used pencil to have a contour of the face and then added some details. After rough sketch, I applied colours onto the paper and finish the portrait. The procedures seemed not to be difficult, but there are many details in this painting. I had to be careful in these details or the face would look strange.

The difficulty in this project is to get the perfect skin colour for the portrait. The colours I mixed were either too dark or too light for my grandmother’s face. Also, for some wrinkles on the face, I had to get different hues of the skin colour I made. I managed to have the perfect skin colour in my mind, but I did not do well on the wrinkles and the shadows.

I needed more practises to be better at making shadows on a painting. I would look through more artwork from other artists while I was practicing. These painting would surely be a big favor for me to improve.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page