top of page

Ojo de Dios


Ojo de Dios; Branches and various yarn; 13 cm Diameter; 2017

 

This was an Ojo de Dios. I used two branches as the base and follow the repeated steps to weave. To show more variety in this work, I made a mixture of blue and green before I weave.

Ojos de Dios had been created for celebration or blessing. They were often used as a gift. They were from Mexican culture and spread around the world. The two materials of the Ojos de Dios were the branches and the yarns. I only made a plain one with no decorations on it, and I chose two light colours.

I tried to have a mixture colour of the yarns, but I did not do well on this part. The colour was not as obvious as I thought. Next time I will put more same-coloured yarns together, in order to make the thread thick enough to be seen.

I want to know more stories behind Ojos de Dios, because it is a symbol of aboriginal culture. Being equipped with knowledge, I will be more likely to get new designing ideas of Ojos de Dios.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page